Nail Polish Maintenance

To some, this may sound a little bit odd, but I have the awful habit of painting my nails and then never taking it off. In other words, I allow my once beautifully manicured nails (okay, let’s be real–I do them myself and they’re not perfect) to fall into the awful chipped nail polish territory. In the highest form of hypocrisy, I judge others for having chipped nails as sloppy, careless, and maybe even childish while I commit the very crime on a regular basis. I associate chipped nail polish with middle school girls who get excited about the novelty of painting their nails, but then lose interest and don’t bother to use nail polish remover and repaint. I am one of those girls. I am exactly one of those girls. However, in the name of self-improvement, I intend to change that.

Personally, I have never been able to grow out my nails because I have been playing the violin since I was four years old. Any violinist (or string player, for that matter) who is even remotely serious about practicing his instrument will tell you that long fingernails and fingerboards do not mix. I am ashamed to admit that the only reason my nails have grown to a decent length is because I haven’t picked up my violin in a few weeks. Oops! On the plus side, I have been able to paint (and now repaint) my nails.

DSC04588As you can see in the picture on the left, my nails have started to visibly chip. While there is not much chipping in the middle section of the nails, my nails have obviously grown during the week that has gone by since I first painted them. For my own reference (and for anyone else who may happen to have this issue), nail polish at this level of chipping should be removed. The standard I have set requires that I remove the polish at this stage. It’s simple, really. Get some cotton balls or swabs and wipe away. The next part is completely voluntary and really depends on whether or not you have 15-20 minutes to devote to applying more nail polish. One thing is for sure: no nail polish is better than severely chipped nail polish!

DSC04591Next, I selected a nail polish from our limited collection. I selected a color called “Crowded” by UO Basics. You can get it here from Urban Outfitters for $5. I painted two coats with an additional clear coat. I am not a nail painting expert by any stretch of the imagination, so I apologize for the bits of polish that leaked out to my cuticles. This sure beats picture #1’s chipped polish, doesn’t it?

Reasons to Keep Nail Polish Looking Fabulous:

1. Chipped nail polish looks sloppy.
2. On the flip side, well-manicured nails look classy and make you seem more put-together.
3. Painting nails are an easy accessory to match any outfit.
4. Well-manicured nails in a muted color make you look more professional.
5. Painting nails is fun! And so is keeping them looking fabulous.

2 thoughts on “Nail Polish Maintenance

  1. I have a hard time with taking mine off my toes! :S I love this post! New follower – check out my blog some time graciousluck.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

