Braised Celery

Today, I scoured the refrigerator and discovered that there was an unopened bag of celery that was starting to go bad. I wasn’t in the mood for the only go-to way I ever eat celery (with peanut butter and raisins), so I turned to the internet for a recipe. Lo and behold, I discovered Alton Brown’s recipe for braised celery and I immediately got to work! I adapted it a bit to my own tastes, so here it is:

Ingredients:

Celery (as much as you want)
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
Pinch of salt (to taste)
Pinch of ground pepper (to taste)
0.5 cup vegetable or beef broth

1. Rinse celery first, which is especially important if you buy organic like I do (there were even two tiny spiders in the heart of one of my stalks). I also highly recommend soaking them if you have the time.
2. Cut off the tops and bottoms. Throw away the leafy stalks.
3. Cut the celery into two-inch pieces.
4. Melt butter in a skillet on medium heat.
5. Add celery, salt, and pepper.
6. Cook until the celery softens slightly (this should take about five minutes, but it also depends on the power of your stove).
7. Add broth (I used vegetable broth), reduce heat to low, and cover.
8. Cook until the celery is tender (also about five minutes).
9. Uncover and cook for another five minutes or until most of the liquid is gone.
10. Sprinkle grated Parmesan cheese on top and enjoy!

IMG_9768The verdict: Give this to people who think they don’t like celery. If properly cooked, I promise just about everyone will enjoy this preparation of this low calorie vegetable. I wouldn’t recommend trying to make a meal out of this; one serving is, at most, 70 calories!

Leave a Reply

