I’m a Size 0!

So, I’ve been shooting for getting back to 110 pounds since I was 15 years old and I am now 23. A few days ago, I just so happened to reach my goal right before a planned shopping excursion with my friend. Even though I had a pretty small spending budget, I decided to do something I have never done before: try on expensive dresses! The cheapest dress I tried on was $60, but that was the 30% sale price. The most expensive dress I tried on was $600 (I was almost too afraid to try it on after getting into the dressing room). Throughout the entire day, I tried on dresses from Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Theory, and Banana Republic.

Cute beaded dressAt Neiman Marcus, I tried on a beautiful Aidan Mattox dress in size 0. The 0 was the only size on the rack that wasn’t a 6 or 8 (sizes that I know are too big for me), so I decided that I would try it on. “This dress is so adorable,” I told my friend while waiting in line for the dressing room, “but it looks too small. I don’t think it’s going to fit me.” Imagine my shock when I slipped on the dress and it was not even a snug fit. There is extraordinary detail in the beading of the dress; it is absolutely stunning. Even though it hits just above the knee for me, I imagine the fit is intended for a few inches above the knee on a taller person. It’s tough being so short sometimes because mainstream clothes never seem to fit quite right!

Saks fifth ave dressAnother dress I really liked I found at the Saks Fifth Avenue store by the store brand Red in size small. The material was very flowy and comfortable, although I wondered if it was perhaps just slightly too big. If I purchased this dress, I would probably have to get it taken in a bit for it to fit me perfectly. Or perhaps it is supposed to fit exactly like this. It’s hard to tell, especially because this was not a petite-sized dress. I really like the design on the dress, the overall fit, the way it slims past my (wide) hips, and the blue, white, and black color combination. I’m also a big fan of the black sheer top part; nothing I currently own looks quite so unique. For some reason, I can imagine wearing this to a gallery opening or other similar evening event. I don’t remember the exact price, just over $100!

banana republic dressWe finally headed over to Banana Republic, which was our last stop of the day. I was overjoyed to find a small petite section with items that were really cute! 0P was the smallest dress, but there was a little extra material at my waist (notice the scrunched up fabric). There was no 00P to try on for comparison. I should note that this was my boyfriend’s favorite dress out of all of the ones I tried on, which is at least a little bit important. 😉 This dress was only $60 on sale and I probably would have bought it if I was not already purchasing a 0P black pencil skirt for work. $30 off the usual price is a significant discount!

Overall, I would say that I had an extremely successful day shopping at this brand new outlet mall in my brand new size. It felt amazing to try on dresses and just enjoy myself while hardly even glancing at the price tag. If nothing else, this helped me figure out what size I am in different brands, as well as give me more motivation than ever to become established in a career so that I can dress as well as I want!

4 thoughts on “I’m a Size 0!

  1. Congrats on reaching your goal! Trying on clothes is so much more fun when everything looks good on you. How tall are you? Just curious. Anyway, great job!

      1. I’m 5’1 and I used to be a size 0 so I get what you’re saying. When you’re short, every pound seems to count.

Leave a Reply

