The Sunshine Award

sunshine awardThere was no better way to start my Sunday morning after completing my very first grown-up 40-hour work week than to log onto WordPress to discover that the wonderful Kate of the blog A Hundred Affections had nominated me for an award! I started my blog in early July because I realized that I was less than six months away from my 24th birthday. 24 is my favorite number and I realized that I wanted to make sure, in whatever way possible, that 24 would be an absolutely incredible year for me. What better way to ensure that than by improving myself now, as a 23-year-old? So far, I have blogged about my journey, covering topics such as how to win sweepstakes (okay, I still haven’t won one), healthy recipes, and progress on individual fitness goals. It makes me feel happy that I can be a little ray of sunshine through my “ideal me” journey for someone else!

“The Sunshine Award recognizes bloggers whose writings “light up the dark corners of our minds” The rules are simple and provided below: (1) Thank the person who gave you the award in your blog post. (2) Do the Q&A below. (3) Pass on the award to 10 – 12 deserving and inspiring bloggers, inform them and link to their blogs.”

Having thanked Kate, I’ll get to answering those just-for-fun questions!

Favorite color? I always cite a tie between purple and blue. Blue is certainly my favorite color to wear, probably due to my light blue eyes!

Favorite animal? Dolphins are my favorite. I love how they look happy all the time and have that gleeful chattering sound they make.

Favorite number? 24! It’s funny that is a question on here given its significance to this blog.

Favorite non-alcoholic drink? I drink good ole-fashioned water more than anything else, but my go-to drinks otherwise are unsweetened green tea, mango smoothies (!), and hot chocolate during fall and winter.

Favorite alcoholic drink? So, I don’t drink. I have taken a few teeny tiny sips of drinks because I’m really curious about what they taste like. So far, all I’ve figured out is that I really, really don’t like top shelf whiskey.

Facebook or Twitter? Definitely Facebook. I created a Twitter account a few years ago, but I never really figured out how to use it. I only tweet occasionally if I need to share something for a giveaway.

My passions? Helping other people, working with kids (especially those who need help the most), reading, writing, spending time in the great outdoors, meeting new people, trying new things, living a healthy lifestyle, playing the violin, seeing performances in the arts, etc. Overall, I enjoy spending my time in such a way so that at the end of the day I think, “Wow. I really took advantage of the fact that I’m alive today.”

Now, here are my nominations! This was tough as I enjoy a lot of wonderful blogs here on WordPress.

25 before I’m 25

The Shut Down Runner

Raising 5 Kids With Disabilities

278 to Boston

100 Days of Evelyn

GRIT by Brit

Project Light to Life

Ajaytau 2010

Honk If You’re Vegan

thebrothersj

Conquer the world.

myclosetbeautyfinds

Thanks for having amazing, inspirational, fun-to-read blogs, everyone! 😀

13 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

  1. Thanks for the nomination Carolyn! I really appreciate it. Will try to get round to putting up a post about it soon – the last time I did one of these it tired me out because of the number of links I had to include but I’ll persevere! 🙂

  2. Wow that is awesome! I learned a lot about you and that is so great that you got a head start before your lucky year! It looks like you’re well on your way to making this the best year ever! 🙂 Good for you!

Leave a Reply

